Skip to main content


Safeguarding Pupils at Cymer Afan Primary School

The  Designated Child Protection Officers in school are Mrs Quinn and Mr Appleby.  The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Officer is Mrs C Jones

If you ever feel that you are in danger or at risk or you have any serious problem in school or at home then you must go to speak with either of them.

The designated governors for Child Protection are Mrs Mairwen Goodridge and Mrs Leanne Gray

  Mrs V. Quinn – Lead Learner 

            Mr R. Appleby – Head Teacher




Mrs L Gray– Safeguarding Governor 







Mrs M. Goodridge – Safeguarding Governor



If you are concerned about the safety of any child please contact the school on 01639 850739.

Alternatively you can get further information from the Neath Port Talbot Children and Family Services or the Neath Port Talbot Safeguarding Children Board.

More information is also available about All Wales Child Protection Services.

For those working in our school or supporting our children, we offer a safeguarding induction.  The following leaflet is provided as part of this induction to ensure everyone is aware of our safeguarding procedures and the importance of safeguarding.

Guide for parents leaflet 2019-2020 CAP

Safeguarding leaflet for all visitors CAP Sept 19-20

For more information regarding the schools Safeguarding procedures please go to the Policies and Documents section of our website.


Useful Contacts:

Childline: 0800 1111

NSPCC helpline: 0808 800 5000